Bloom’s Taxonomy: – Bloom’s Taxonomy is divided into three domains i.e. Cognitive Domain, Psychomotor Domain, and Affective Domain. Cognitive Domain is used to learn and understand a new skill, Psychomotor domain is used to perform that skill and Affective Domain is all about whether the person enjoying his action or not. 

For Example: – To learn driving, a person used his cognitive domain to understand the use of various parts of the car then he uses the psychomotor domain to driving a car, after learning driving he is under affective domain which is related to affection whether he is feeling happy or in anxiety or enjoying driving, etc. 

These three domains are interlinked with each other; everyone is using these entire domains in their life. Let’s discuss the Cognitive Domain.

Bloom’s Taxonomy of Cognitive Domain: – To bring a standard in education Bloom’s Taxonomy comes into existence So that educators can use the common language for assessment. The goal of an educator to using Bloom’s Taxonomy is to encourage higher-order thought in their students by building up from lower-level cognitive skills. As per Bloom, information processing can be bifurcated in six levels. Each level is more complex than the previous one. 

Before explaining all the levels just giving you a brief example: – A child knows that he can purchase various things from the supermarket, this is termed as knowledge; He wants to purchase a dress for an annual day function so he starts searching cloth section, this comes under comprehension; Then he starts searching which type of dress he wants as per the annual day theme, this comes under application; After that he checks how many no. of pairs he should buy like one or two for a whole day function, it comes under analysis; After selecting dress he thinks about various brands and prices, which brand products are better and have reasonable price also, it comes under synthesis; At last finally he select the dress after evaluating everything; it comes under evaluation


  • First Level- Knowledge: – Knowledge refers to the collection of information, facts through learning, and the experience of that person he/she has in their life. Knowledge is acquired through perception, communication, and learning. Memory is used to recall that knowledge.

For Example- A person knows he can save his money by opening a savings account in a bank. He can open either the Fixed Deposits or Recurring Deposits accounts with the bank to save his earnings. Now, this is the knowledge he has acquired through his resources.

  • Second Level- Comprehension: – Comprehension is termed as a thinking process or the grasping the meaning of acquired information. A person has a wide knowledge of various resources. At this stage, he tries to choose a particular over others.

For Example – A person as per the above example for saving his earning first he needs to select a bank. He has knowledge that we have various banks in our country to start savings in India like SBI, PNB, UCO, Axis, HDFC Bank, etc. Now he needs to select a specific bank for opening his savings bank account. 

  • Third Level- Application: – Application means the action or act of applying your knowledge or ability to use the learned material.

For Example- As per the above example he knows about various accounts like RD, FD, etc. Now he starts thinking which account is better to earn high rates of return. 

  • Fourth Level- Analysis: – Analysis means to check or examine in deeply to understand in a better way. In simple words analysis is to understand the situation.

For Example- Now a person starts thinking either he opens one or more FD accounts or RD accounts as per the rate of returns.

  • Fifth Level- Synthesis: – Synthesis means integration or addition of two or more elements. It refers to put the parts together to make a new thing as a whole.

For Example- As per this level person starts thinking about the addition of various banks together. Like the person starts thinking to open FD or RD in more than one bank.

  • Sixth Level- Evaluation: – Evaluation refers to after analyzing the whole situation take the final decision. 

For Example- Finally, he opened his bank account and opens the FD and RD as per the higher rates of return.

These levels are revised by Anderson and Krathwohl (2000). As per Anderson and Krathwohl first four levels are the same but the highest two levels in Bloom’s Taxonomy sequencing need to change; Evaluation should occur at the fifth level and on the sixth level Creating should mention. But as per Huitt (2000), Evaluation and Synthesis are at the same level of difficulty so it should remain at the same level.

Priyanka Sethia

Website Renovation Under Process

Our Top Ranked Posts on Google and Yahoo Search Results

Click over the link below for our top ranked posts on Google and Yahoo Search Results:

Top Ranked Posts

Special Thanks to Our Visitors & Supporters

Google Language Translator

Since we have global visitors, we have enabled Google Language Translator for better learning on our website.

We aim to provide free and quality learning. Please share our website as much as you can.

Social Media

Follow us on Social Media & Stay Updated with our Latest Content on Website

You can also freely DM your suggestions for the website there, including topics you demand. We will definitely try our best to bring them up.

Author wise Posts

Click on the name of the author to study their notes:

Harjeet Kaur

Smriti Kanchan

Priyanka Sethia

Nancy Gupta

Anjali Thakur

Amrinder Singh Panesar

Translate »
error: Content is protected !!